Winners of the 2011 Get Your Chalk On! Awards

The judges decisions are in! And the winners of the 2011 Get Your Chalk On! Awards are...

It was a tough decision to determine the winners of The Loop's first annual sidewalk chalk art festival, but the judges have made their final decisions.

Casey Kasparek wins the Viewer’s Choice Award.  Loop patrons gathered around the artist throughout the day to watch his masterpiece take form. Kasparek entering the Chalk of Fame Category with his drawing of William Burroughs, a well-known St. Louis author and visual artists.

Kasparek won a free night stay at the Moonrise Hotel, $100 gift certificate from Blick Art Materials, and lots of other prizes from Loop businesses including Cicero’s, COCA, Fitz’s, The Silver Lady, and Fro Yo.

Brian Colón and Daryl Brown win the Chalk of Fame Award.  This dynamic duo entered the contest with their submission of Vincent Price. Price, a St. Louis native, is best known for his villainous roles in more than 100 films, as well as many stage and television productions.

Colón and Brown won a party for 10 at Pin-Up Bowl, a dinner for two at The Melting Pot, and gift certificates from COCA, Fitz’s, Ziezo, Three Kings Public House, and Fro Yo.

Lisa Pine and Leslie Perlow win the Best of The Loop Theme Award.  Pine and Perlow registered at the last minute on the day of the of the event and initially thought they should submit an entry for the Most Creative Category.  These two artists switched their category at the last minute to The Best of The Loop category, and it's a good thing they did, because they ended up winning with their drawing of The Pageant.

Pine and Perlow won a dinner for two at The Melting Pot and gift certificates from Fitz’s, Phoenix Rising St. Louis, COCA, The Silver Lady, and Fro Yo!

Craig Thomas wins the Most Creative Award.  Unfortunately we did not get to see his masterpiece completed before the powerful thunderstorm washed his artwork away, but we can recognize greatness when we see it!  Thomas won $100 Gift Certificate from Blick Art Materials, and other great gift certificates from Blueberry Hill, COCA, Three Kings Public House, Fitz’s, The Melting Pot, Baked T’s, and Fro Yo.

Abby Hirshman wins the Young Artist’s Award for Chalkland.  Hirshman drew what she envisioned The Loop trolley to look when it begins operation in 2013. Hirshman wins a teddy bear from City Sprouts that is over 4 feet tall, and gift certificates to Fitz’s and The Melting Pot.

Each artist will be receiving an email shortly with details on where to pick up their prize pack.  Also a feature story will be written on each artist and posted on The Loop website next week.

Congratulations again to all of our winning artists and we look forward to seeing you return for Get Your Chalk On! 2012 to defend your title.

This post is contributed by a community member. The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Patch Media Corporation. Everyone is welcome to submit a post to Patch. If you'd like to post a blog, go here to get started.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »